Sketching the Giraffe

I decided I wanted to make a paper sculpture of a giraffe. Before I start my sculptures, I like to draw a lot of sketches. Sketching is all part of my initial planning stage. It really helps me to work through a lot of different types of decisions I need to make before I can even begin the 3D elements of one of my paper sculptures.

How large will the finished paper sculpture be? Will it be photo realistic or more whimsical? Will the giraffe be facing forward or will it be a profile view? Am I going to make his whole entire body? What do I want to focus on and draw attention to? What will the composition of the piece look like?

I like their eyes and their long eyelashes, so that is something I wanted to highlight. I also wanted to show off his mane and his ossicones (horn-like antlers) on the top of his head. After lots of sketching, I decided I would make a 3D portrait of the giraffe instead of showing his whole entire body. And, I wanted to show his face as a profile view and have it look like he is coming out from behind the white mat of the framed picture.

Here are some of the preliminary sketches I drew of my giraffe.

Coming up in my next blog post: the finished giraffe!

Leave a Reply

