Yikes! Get Me Out of Here!

I was thrilled to find out I received Honorable Mention for my miniature paper sculpture titled, Yikes! Get Me Out of Here!

I was thinking about some of the experiences my family and I had when we went out looking for blue crabs. We always had a fun time – lots of laughing – especially when one of those blue crabs would make a run for it. It always amazed me how those critters with all those crazy looking legs could get them to cooperate and get moving so fast, darting across the sand or running across the deck to go back to the safety of the water. This is how I came up with the idea to create a picture of a basket full of crabs – with a couple of escapees!

The entire picture is made from paper that was then painted in watercolor and gouache. Even the sand is made from painted paper.

This paper sculpture is in the 25th Annual International Miniature Show at Parklane Gallery in Kirkland, WA. The show is May 2 and goes till June 4, 2017.

Leave a Reply

