Where Do You Find Your Inspiration?

unnamedArtists find inspiration all around them. From their environment, their surroundings, their favorite pets; from nature or found objects. Ideas for that next painting or project can also come from conversations with friends and family, or the colors in our surroundings, the music we are listening to on an iPhone or those controversial subjects that energize and motivate.  What types of things are inspiring your next masterpiece?

Whenever I go to my grocery store, the first thing I notice every time I walk through the doors is the beautiful array of fresh cut flowers. The flowers are always so breathtaking and eye catching.  Last week, there seemed to be a larger display than usual of different types of roses – all different colors and sizes.  After seeing all of the flowers, I couldn’t help but concentrate on painting a three dimensional paper sculpture of roses in miniature! (I’ll post the picture as soon as it is finished.)

This is how I came up with my idea for my next paper sculpture. Where do you find your inspiration for your art projects?

Leave a Reply

