Goldilocks and the Iguana

Iguana_Frames_FabianThis week I felt a bit like Goldilocks from the popular children’s storybook, Goldilocks and the Three Bears. It has been a bit of a challenge trying to find a shadow box picture frame that my 3D paper sculpture iguana would fit into. Every time I found another frame it was — no, this frame is too small; no, this frame is too thin; no, this frame is too big. And finally, the fourth frame I found is… just right!

Initially, when I started working on my iguana painting, I thought I had the right size shadowbox frame already on hand- a wooden 8” x 10” x 1.5” deep shadowbox frame. I imagined the iguana would come out of the paper about an inch or so, making that frame a perfect fit! Well, I am in the middle of this project, and realize, he is developing and growing in size! So, I started searching for other sized shadow box picture frames. I purchased a couple different frames–each one deeper than the previous one! I couldn’t find another 8” x 10” frame that was deep enough where the glass wasn’t bumping into the poor little iguana’s head. Now he is about 3 inches in depth. Alas, a frame the iguana will fit into! I had to move up in frame size-from an 8” x 10” to a 10” x 14” x 4” inch frame.

Iguana_Paper_Scupture_FabiaBecause of this change in size, I also had to repaint the original background of my iguana which was originally going to fit into an 8 x 10 inch frame. I had to add about an inch or so to the background on all four sides. I soaked my watercolor paper with clear, clean, cool water, added color and salt to my recipe and I am pleased to report, I now have cooked up the correct size, to a new 10.5” x 14.5” background, to accommodate the new frame and my 3D paper iguana. Thankfully I was able to make the size correction on the watercolor paper without too much difficulty. This could easily have gone either way and can be a little tricky. I was prepared to start the background over if it would have been necessary. Happily, this won’t be the case.

This is definitely not the typical way of how I like to work, and do not recommend having to go back and repaint and enlarge your background, but as I said in an earlier blog–this iguana is going to evolve as I work on this sculpture. A work in progress. I could have changed the iguana and stuck to my original concept, of only bringing him out of the paper about an inch in depth. But, I realized I really like the way he is turning out and he is going to appear even more three dimensional –like he is coming to life right out of my paper when he is finished!

Next I will be working more on his face and hopefully start the painting process. Stay tuned for more of that next week. Thanks for checking in!

Leave a Reply

