New Adventures

I just created six new paintings in watercolor and gouache. I am very excited about these new pieces. I added a touch of realistic whimsy to each of my pieces. By this I mean that each painting has a little “surprise”, a small three dimensional element that is added on top of each painting in the form of paper sculpture.

This is the first time I am combining the two different styles of art that I am most familiar with: painting and  paper sculpture art. The added touch of paper sculpture brings a whole new level and dimension to my art, seamlessly blending paper and paint in a way that would be hard to replicate and really fits who I am as an artist.

Butterfly

I got my inspiration after visiting the 79th Annual Exhibition of Fine Art in Miniature at the Strathmore Mansion in Washington, DC.  The Fine Art exhibition featured small, intricate paintings, which really appealed to my painting style.  Plus, the paper artists allowed me to think outside the box with what’s possible to do with paper.

I also entered my new designs into the Small Works Exhibition and Sale, a juried art show at Annmarie Sculpture Garden and Art Center in Dowell, MD. I was thrilled on Tuesday when I found out that all six of my pieces are accepted into the show!

This is the first time my art has been accepted into a juried, art gallery type of show. Most of my career, I have been so focused on freelancing or creating my own designs for our games and puzzles. I am looking forward to this new adventure! The show will run from August 14, 2013 – January 5, 2014.

PrayingMantis_CloseUp

It is very exciting to me to be starting something completely new and fresh. Hopefully my art will bring a touch of humor to people as they view my art.  It is just a touch of the realistic whimsy that I hope to bring out a smile onto a person’s face when they notice that there is something three-dimensional added to my artwork.

One thought on “New Adventures

Leave a Reply

