What is Quilling?

I am a quiller.  It may sound like a weird affliction, but it’s actually an old form of paper art.  Basically, it originated way back when, during the Renaissance time or so, and is fashioned from thin strips of paper manipulated into different shapes.

For example, these skinny strips of paper can be rolled up and pressed into shapes, or cut with tiny scissors to add extra embellishments.  It’s a tedious, detailed process that is right up my alley, when I feel like it.

Snowflakes_1

I started quilling as a teenager, and it became a source of income for me, as I exhibited at craft shows.  But then, when I finished college and decided to freelance illustrate, I was able to hide my box of Quilling paper up in the attic. By this time, I didn’t think I would ever have to look at another one of those skinny pieces of paper for good!  Yea!

Well, I was wrong about that.  Somehow, mysteriously, every couple of years, the quilling box makes another appearance in my living room.  I seem to dive right back into that box of colorful papers, right where I left off, rocking (yes, sitting in a rocking chair – rocking at 50 miles an hour) and quilling, creating tedious little ornaments out of paper.  Maybe it helps to rid me of my anxiety, all the rocking while rolling tiny pieces of paper and gluing them together.

Quilling to me is like one of those old friends you haven’t talked to in years; when you see them again, you pick up right where you left off. Well, what can I say.  Quilling keeps coming back, no matter how many times I’ve carted that bin up to the attic, it keeps reappearing year after year.

Well, I really have got to go….my box of quilling paper is calling me!

Spring_Flowers_Quilling-cop

One thought on “What is Quilling?

  1. Pingback: Time for Quilled Ornaments! | Melinda Fabian Illustrator

Leave a Reply

